Chinese Characters Chinese Characters

End-year 1991 County Boundary Coverage (ey911)

This coverage has been constructed to match with the 1991 Provincial Yearbook datasets. The coverage ey911 contains the standard items of polygon-id, polygon#, area and perimeter, along with the following 7 attribute items:

GB91SXQ: Guo Biao administrative codes as of end-year 1991. Where possible, official codes were used, as listed in "Codes for the administrative divisions of the PRC" (Zhonghua renmin gongheguo xingzheng quhua daima), GB2260-91. There were some changes made based upon administrative changes that occured during 1991. Refer to the 90-91 conversion table for information on changes to GB Codes that occured between year-end 1990 and year-end 1991. For urban areas, the shixiaqu (SXQ) codes were used (see the discussion of administrative units for more information on aggregation schemes). The following are the special cases for which an unofficial code was used:

   1. The following prefectural-level cities have been assigned codes for 
      their shixiaqu:
        442001	Zhongshan shi	
        441911	Dongguan shi	
        371101	Rizhao shi	
        420401	Shashi shi

   2. All Taiwan units have been given the identical code of 710000.

   3. Hongkong units have been assigned code of 810000.  Macao units use the 
      code 820000.
   4. Fujian islands under Taiwan administration were assigned the following 
        359991  Jinmen
        359991	Xiaojinmen
        359992	Dongding dao
        359993	Mazu dao
        359994	Beigantang dao
        359995	Gaodeng dao
        359996	Xiquan dao
        359997	Dongquan dao
        359998	Liang dao
        359999	Dongyin dao

   5. The territorial unit in northwest corner of Qinghai has been assigned 
      the name of Manya Dachaidan with code 632824.

   6. The disputed islands Chiwei yu, Diaoyu dao, Nanxiao dao, Beixiao dao,
      Huangwei yu were assigned code 0.

   7. Qinghai Lake, which is not under local administration, was assigned 
      code 1.
NM91SXQ: Name of the administrative unit at the SXQ level of disaggregation. For this item, the following conventions were adopted:
    1. If the unit is a county (xian), 'xian' has been dropped from the name 
       except for those counties with single character names.
    2. For polygons of the shixiaqu of a city, the name for all polygons 
       belonging to the shixiaqu have been given the name of the city and the 
       abbreviated 'SXQ' designation (eg., Yangzhou SXQ for polygon(s) 
       belonging to Yangzhou shixiaqu).

NMFULL: Name in full. The 'xian' designation has not been dropped. Nor are the shixiaqu names abbreviated with the 'SXQ' label. In addition, for polygons that are a sub-polygon of a shixiaqu, the name used will in most cases correspond to its correct lower level place name. For example, their are three main polygons for Dalian shixiaqu. One is labelled simply 'Dalian: Chengqu', while the polygons for two urban qu's that are separate have the name here of 'Dalian: Luushunkou qu' and 'Dalian: Jinzhou qu'.

NMLOCAL: Local name of unit. An effort has been made to assign a local name to each polygon, however this item is not however complete as of this writing. It is provided for reference.

NMHANZI: Chinese characters that correspond to the entry on NM91SXQ, entered in BIG-5 code. In a few cases, characters were unavailable with the software used. A later version of the coverage will contain all characters.

SXQSTAT: Designation for primary or secondary polygon. Some GB Codes in the coverage have more than one polygon, such as coastal counties with off-shore islands. Primary polygons may be selected for specific purposes (e.g., labelling).

        P = primary polygon
        S = secondary polygon, either island or satelite territory
        X = exceptions
ISLAND: Indicates whether the given polygon is a coastal island. For those polygons that are coastal islands or part of an island (except for polygons on Hainan and Taiwan), ISLAND = 1. For all others, ISLAND = 0.

File and format

    ey911.e00  Export file for ARC/INFO coverage (Size = 5.6 Mb).  Single 
               precision and generalized version of tbd91.  Includes both arc 
               and polygon attribute files (ey911.pat, ey911.aat).  Can be 
               imported into Arcview 2.0 and 2.1 (for PC or UNIX).  If imported 
               into Arcview 1.0, user will have difficulty since the tabular 
               socioeconomic data files are not included in the coverage.  This
               is because unlike the later versions 2.0 and 2.1, Arcview 1.0 
               does not allow the user to create links with external datafiles.
                Basic instructions  for importing the file are available.

Last modified on 21 February, 1998 Return to CITAS Homepage